Jackson Touchdown Club


For over six decades, the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., has shined as one of the most prestigious nonprofit athletic organizations in the South.  The club was organized in downtown Jackson in November 1946, when Dr. Lacey Hughes and 15 other football fans gathered together to commemorate the sport of football.  By the end of 1946, Dr. Hughes and the original 15 football fans recruited a large number of new members.  The organization received Articles of Incorporation from the State of Mississippi as an active nonprofit corporation on May 26, 1949.  As the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., entered the 1950s, the group quickly established itself as one of the largest nonprofit sports clubs in America.


The Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., has undertaken a number of worthy projects during its history.  In 1960-61, three Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., members--Jimmie "Mississippi Red" McDowell, "Farmer" Jim Neal, and "Pop" Allen -- combined forces to create the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.  The Club hosted the annual MSHOF induction banquet each spring and operated as administrator of the shrine until 2005.


From 1952 to January 1993, the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., operated the Mississippi High School All Star Football Game.  Proceeds from this game were used for the Lacey Hughes Scholarship Fund, which was named in honor of the first president of the club.  The fund made scholarship awards of over $150,000 through the years to assist young men and women (who were not necessarily athletes) to attend a Mississippi college or university of their choice.


In March 1999, the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., created a new scholarship fund entitled the Gene May Scholarship Fund.  One criteron for the Gene May Scholarship Fund requires a recipient to attend a Mississippi college or university.  The recipient must have played high school football his senior year for the entire year unless injury prevented the player from completing his season.  The Gene May Scholarship fund is currently active and has provided funds to numerous high school football players to attend a Mississippi college or university.


Today, the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., continues its efforts to provide "football, fellowship, and fun" to its members and to the Jackson metro area.  Club membership is comprised of football fans representing many different colleges, universities, high schools, and professional affiliations.  The only criterion for membership is to be a fan of the sport of football.


On fall Mondays beginning the Monday after Labor Day through the first Monday following the Thanksgiving holidays, the Jackson Touchdown Club, Inc., presents a fabulous array of athletic speakers at the club meetings.  The Club annually and traditionally invites the "Big Three" head football coaches at Ole Miss, Mississippi State, and Southern Mississippi to speak to the members of the club.  Appearances are also made by the head football coaches of Mississippi College, Jackson State, Belhaven, Millsaps, Mississippi Valley State, Delta State, and Alcorn State.


High school and community college coaches address the club on a regular basis.  Nationally recognized athletic speakers are also featured by the club and a High School Player of the Week is also honored at each meeting. The final meeting of the season is Seniors Night, an awards presentation to the outstanding seniors of all Mississippi collegiate football programs as selected by their teams' coaching staffs.


Membership benefits include 12 meetings including meals, discounted ticket prices to club events, plus other benefits as designated by the Club's Board of Directors.

© 2018 Jackson Touchdown Club